• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Well-Known Figures and Perm

Karl Moderakh

Karl Fedorovich Moderakh is one of the governors of the Perm province of the late XVIII - early XIX century. He was a man of brilliant mind, with excellent knowledge of construction and engineering. Confirmation of this is his work in St. Petersburg, where Karl Moderakh was sent at the end of 1770. There, according to his design and under his supervision, the banks of the Fontanka were laid with granite, the Ekaterininsky and Nikolsky canals were dug, bridges were built. The Petersburg road, the famous fountains in St. Petersburg, as well as the Tsarskoye Selo Palace and the large St. Petersburg Theater - all this is the work of Moderakh.

First of all, Karl Fedorovich personally walked all the streets of Perm and came to the conclusion that the roads here are "very bad." He was engaged in their arrangement, and according to contemporaries soon "he brought the roads of the Perm province to such perfection that they were surprised by foreigners who saw the highways of France and England." It was especially surprising that he did this without cost to the treasury and without burdening the townsfolk, thanks only to his German prudence. The city of Perm was planned by him with straight, parallel streets and quarters so that all development during the 19th century was carried out according to the strict plan of Moderakh.

Karl Fedorovich perfectly understood the profitability of trade development for the city: it was raising capital, increasing commodity circulation. In 1802 a stone Gostiny Dvor was built. It was located on the site of the current Theatre Square, near the Opera and Ballet Theatre, and had a very convenient location. Transport highways crossed there and goods were delivered at no particular cost. In Perm at that time there was a shortage of artisans, and so Moderakh ordered to bring here people exiles for minor crimes.

Under Karl Fedorovich, the Kama coast was lined with rubble stone for two quarters; a ditch was dug in the southern part of the city at a distance of 800 fathoms and a rampart was poured in order to divert snow water into the Egoshikha River.

In addition, Moderakh reduced office work and eliminated abuse in public places. The administration of duties was arranged so that the inhabitants of the province were in profit, and the government did not know the arrears. He contributed to the development of education in the region. Under him, the construction of the stone building of the Perm National School was completed, a gymnasium was established, which he personally supplied with a library, physical instruments and a mineralogical room.

Alexander Popov

Alexander Stepanovich Popov was an outstanding physicist and a talented scientist. He studied at the Perm Seminary, during when he decided that he would devote himself to science. Subsequently, he became famous as the inventor of radio, the central street of the city is named after him, and a monument was erected next to the place where he lived. The list of inventions of Alexander Stepanovich Popov includes not only a telegraphy system without wires and a radio communication system, but also the first device for recording electromagnetic radiation of atmospheric origin - a light-emitter (July 1895); the first detector radio with receiving telegraph signals by ear (September 1899); first crystalline point diode (June 1900); first radiotelephone system (December 1903).

Sergey Diaghilev

Sergei Pavlovich Diaghilev is an art and theater figure, entrepreneur, organizer of exhibitions of artists, the "Russian Seasons" and the Russian Diaghilev Ballet troupe in Paris. He was born in Perm. A “European philanthropist”, as Diaghilev called himself, who cut through Russia a “cultural window to Europe” at the beginning of the last century, giving the world an understanding of the global, enduring value of Russian culture, deserves that at the beginning of the present century Russian culture should raise its banner under the motto "CENTURY OF DIAGILEV".

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Известные личности и Пермь

Карл Модерах

Карл Федорович Модерах — один из губернаторов Пермской губернии конца XVIII — начала XIX века. Это был человек блестящего ума, с превосходными знаниями строительного и инженерного дела. Подтверждением тому служит его деятельность в Петербурге, куда Карла Федоровича Модераха направили в конце 1770 года. Здесь по его проекту и под его наблюдением были выложены гранитом берега Фонтанки, прорыты Екатерининский и Никольский каналы, сооружены мосты. Петербургская дорога, знаменитые фонтаны в Санкт-Петербурге, а также Царскосельский дворец и большой Санкт-Петербургский театр — все это дело рук Модераха.

Прежде всего Карл Федорович лично исходил все пермские улицы и пришел к выводу, что дороги здешние «весьма плохи». Он занялся их обустройством, и, по свидетельству современников, вскоре «дороги Пермской губернии он довел до такого совершенства, что им удивлялись иностранцы, видевшие шоссе Франции и Англии». Особенно удивительно было то, что он делал это без издержек для казны и без отягощения обывателей, благодаря только своей немецкой расчетливости. Сам город Пермь был им распланирован прямыми, параллельными улицами и кварталами так, что вся застройка в течение XIX века велась по строгому плану Модераха. 

Карл Федорович прекрасно понимал выгодность развития торговли для города: это привлечение капитала, увеличение товарооборота. В 1802 году был построен каменный Гостиный двор. Он находился на месте нынешнего Театрального сквера, что около Театра оперы и балета, и имел расположение весьма удобное. Здесь пересекались транспортные магистрали, и товары доставлялись без особых затрат. В Перми в то время ощущался недостаток в ремесленниках, и поэтому Модерах распорядился снабдить ими город из ссыльных за незначительные преступления.

При Карле Федоровиче берег Камы на протяжении двух кварталов выложили бутовым камнем, по южной черте города на расстоянии 800 саженей выкопали ров и насыпали вал для того, чтобы отвести снеговую воду в речку Егошиху.

Помимо этого, Модерах сократил делопроизводство и уничтожил злоупотребления в присутственных местах. Отправление повинностей было устроено так, что жители губернии были в выгоде, а правительство не знало недоимок. Он способствовал развитию образования в крае. При нем была окончена постройка каменного здания Пермского народного училища, учреждена гимназия, которую он лично снабдил библиотекой, физическими инструментами и минералогическим кабинетом. 

Александр Попов

Александр Степанович Попов был выдающимся физиком и талантливым ученым. Он учился в пермской семинарии, за это время он решил, что посвятит себя науке. В последствии он прославился как изобретатель радио, центральная улица города названа вего честь, а также установлен памятник рядом с местом, где Александр Степанович проживал. Перечень изобретений Александра Степановича Попова включает не только систему телеграфии без проводов и систему радиосвязи, но и первый прибор для регистрации электромагнитных излучений атмосферного происхождения — грозоотметчик (июль 1895 года); первый детекторный радиоприемник с приемом телеграфных сигналов на слух (сентябрь 1899 года); первый кристаллический точечный диод (июнь 1900 года); первая радиотелефонная система (декабрь 1903 года).

Сергей Дягилев

Сергей Павлович Дягилев - русский художественный и театральный деятель, антрепренер, организатор выставок художников, "Русских сезонов" и труппы "Русский балет Дягилева" в Париже - родился в Перми. "Меценат европейского толка", как называл себя сам Дягилев, прорубивший России "культурное окно в Европу" в начале прошлого века, давший миру понимание глобальной, непреходящей ценности культуры России, заслуживает того, чтобы в начале века нынешнего русская культура поднимала свои знамена под девизом "ВЕК ДЯГИЛЕВА".

Иосиф Бродский, побывав в Венеции, где похоронен Дягилев, написал:

"...Только фальцет звезды меж телеграфных линий

Там, где глубоким сном спит гражданин Перми..."